skip to main content
Special Education Department Overview
Summit School District believes that all children can learn. We provide a variety of special services to address students' individual needs. In compliance with both state and federal laws, special education programs are available for students identified as having one or more disabilities. Summit School District offers a range of special education services to meet the varied needs of our students including speech therapy, occupational and physical therapy, and school psychological services. 

These services are provided in the form of inclusionary support, collaborative programs, pull out programs, self contained programs and/or day treatment programs. Summit School District strives to match students with programs and services that fit their individual needs and challenge them as learners.



Special Education Staff

20 days ago

District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Mary Kay Doré

marykay.dore@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Sally Garrett

sally.garrett@summitk12org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Shelly Aleshire

shelly.aleshire@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher 
at DVE

Amie Branson

amie.branson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at BRE

Laura Frey

laura.frey@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher 
at DVE and SVE

Kristine Geise

kristine.geise@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at UBE

Kelsey Swanson

kelsey.swanson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SCE

Jen Leslie

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher 
at UBE

Lindsay Lesch

lindsay.lesch@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SCE

Bobbie Marony

roberta.marony@summitk12.org

 



Resource Teacher 
at SVE

Gail O'Malley

laura.mestrangelo@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at FRE

Taylor Wilkinson

taylor.wilkinson@summitk12.org

 



Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Amie Harvey

amie.harvey@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Katie Garvert

katie.garvert@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (7th Grade)

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (8th Grade)

Vickie Ragle

vickie.ragle@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher

at SPHS

Garrett Regner

garrett.regner@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS,SMS, & Offsite

Mindy Regner

mindy.regner@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher
at SHS

Rhonda Reichardt

rhonda.reichardt@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (6th Grade)


Resource Teacher

at SHS

Annie Webb

annie.webb@summitk12.org


Kristy Minor

kristy.minor@summitk12.org


Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE

Joanie Roszinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, FRE, SCE, SVE

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Lizzy Savage

lizzy.savage@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at BRE, UBE, SHS

Anna Skala

anna.skala@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, SVE

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

Brandon Mapes

brandon.mapes@summitk12.org

 

 



 

District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Mary Kay Doré

marykay.dore@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Sally Garrett

sally.garrett@summitk12org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Shelly Aleshire

shelly.aleshire@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher 
at DVE

Amie Branson

amie.branson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at BRE

Laura Frey

laura.frey@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher 
at DVE and SVE

Kristine Geise

kristine.geise@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at UBE

Kelsey Swanson

kelsey.swanson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SCE

Jen Leslie

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher 
at UBE

Lindsay Lesch

lindsay.lesch@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SCE

Bobbie Marony

roberta.marony@summitk12.org

 



Resource Teacher 
at SVE

Gail O'Malley

laura.mestrangelo@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at FRE

Taylor Wilkinson

taylor.wilkinson@summitk12.org

 



Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Amie Harvey

amie.harvey@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Katie Garvert

katie.garvert@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (7th Grade)

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (8th Grade)

Vickie Ragle

vickie.ragle@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher

at SPHS

Garrett Regner

garrett.regner@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS,SMS, & Offsite

Mindy Regner

mindy.regner@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher
at SHS

Rhonda Reichardt

rhonda.reichardt@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (6th Grade)

Annie Webb

annie.webb@summitk12.org



Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE

Joanie Roszinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, FRE, SCE, SVE

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Lizzy Savage

lizzy.savage@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at BRE, UBE, SHS

Anna Skala

anna.skala@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, SVE

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

Brandon Mapes

brandon.mapes@summitk12.org

 

 



 

In what areas do students qualify for special education services?
The state of Colorado recognizes 14 disability categories that qualify a student to receive special education services. Each school has a multi-disciplinary team trained to complete an evaluation. The evaluation information is then used by the team, including parents, to determine if the child qualifies for special education services in one or more of the disability categories:
Autism Spectrum Disorder;
Deaf-Blindness;
Developmental Delay;
Hearing Impairment, including Deafness;
Infant/Toddler with a Disability;
Intellectual Disability;
Multiple Disabilities;
Orthopedic Impairment;
Other Health Impaired;
Serious Emotional Disability;
Specific Learning Disability;
Speech or Language Impairment;
Traumatic Brain Injury;
& Visual Impairment, including Blindness.

My Child is in Special Education. Now What?

4 months ago

Key Terms

about 1 year ago

ADA

Americans with Disabilities Act

ADD

Attention Deficit Disorder

ADHD

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

ASD 

Autism Spectrum Disorder Disability

BOCES

Board of Cooperative Educational Services

CCB

Community Center Board

CDE

Colorado Department of Education

CEC

Council for Exceptional Children

CLD

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Learners

CSDB

Colorado School for the Deaf and Blind

CTBL

Colorado Talking Book Library

DB

Deaf Blindness

DD

Developmentally Delay Disability

ECC

Early Childhood Connections

ECE

Early Childhood Education

ECSE

Early Childhood Special Education

EL

English Learner

GORT

Gray Oral Reading Test

HI

Hearing Impairment including Deafness

ID

Intellectual Disability

IDEA

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

IEP

Individualized Education Plan

IFSP

Individualized Family Service Plan     

LRE

Least Restrictive Environment

LRT

Literacy Resource Teacher

MD

Multiple Disabilities

OHI

Other Health Impairment

OI

Orthopedic Impairment Disability           

OSEP

Office of Special Education Programs

OT

Occupational Therapy 

PEAK

Parent Education and Assistance for Kids

PEP

Parents Encouraging Parents

PT

Physical Therapy

SLD

Specific Learning Disability

SLI

Speech Language Impairment

SED

Serious Emotional Disability

SLP

Speech Language Pathology

SWAAC

Statewide Assistive, Augmentative Alternative Communication

TBI

Traumatic Brain Injury

TDD

Telecommunications Device for the Deaf

TP

Transition Plan

TOWL

Test of Written Language

VI

Visual Impairment

WISC

Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children

WJ-IV

Woodcock Johnson-IV Tests of Academic Achievement

HOW DO STUDENTS QUALIFY FOR SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES?

4 months ago


Summit School District uses a collaborative team process to help support students who struggle within our schools as part of the District's RtI (Response to Instruction) process. This is an on-going process conducted for all students that reviews student data and ensures all students are making progress on their educational goals. Interventions or extensions are implemented to meet student needs. The team continues to meet to monitor student progress. When students are not making appropriate progress the team, including parents, may discuss moving forward with the special education referral process. 


Fast Facts

4 months ago


Specific Learning Disability

Fast Facts

School to Work

Fast Facts

Twice Exceptional

Fast Facts

.

View More

Mobile Experience

No need to download an app! To view the mobile experience, please shrink your browser window by undocking the browser in order to make it resizable then resize the browser to be the size of an iPad then an iPhone.

Close
View More

Mobile Navigation

When your browser’s width conforms to a tablet or mobile phone, the menu bar changes to be mobile optimized.

Close
View More

Login

Login to view additional information on features available to registered users.

Close
View More

Login

Login to view additional information on features available to registered users.

Close
View More

By clicking on your name, you find your personal tools including a combined calendar, feed and more.

Close
View More

By clicking on your name, you find your personal tools including a combined calendar, feed and more.

Close
View More

Admin Button

This admin button appears wherever you have rights to alter a set of blocks. To add a block, click “Add Block” to see the options.

Close
View More

SchoolBlocks offers a unique and powerful personalized search system. A member of the public, searching for "homework" might see an announcement from the school as the first result. However, if the user is logged in, they would see their teacher’s latest homework assignment as the top result.

Close