skip to main content
Special Education Department Overview

SPECIAL EDUCATION PARTNERSHIP COMMITTEE (SEPC)

7 months ago

The Special Education Partnership Committee is a forum that brings together parents, staff, students and the community with an interest in education and disabilities. The purpose of SEPC is to support the district’s mission and vision through meaningful communication and awareness of special education topics to support students’ with disabilities educational experience in Summit School District. Please view the guiding principles listed below.

SEPC Guiding Principles (English & Spanish)


 
1

We would like to invite you to join the committee!

SEPC is seeking the following participants to join the Special Education Partnership Committee:

  • (4)  Parents of a child with a disability 
  • (1) Student with a disability
  • (1) Middle School Special Education Teacher
  • (1) Secondary General Education Teacher
  • (1) Special Service Provider  


APPLY NOW!

Applications due by December 20, 2019


Únase al Comité SEPC


El Distrito Escolar de Summit está buscando los siguientes participantes para unirse al Comité de Asociación de Educación Especial:

  • (4) Padres de un niño con discapacidad
  • (1) Estudiante con discapacidad
  • (1) Profesor de educación especial de escuela intermedia
  • (1) Profesor de Educación General Secundaria
  • (1) Proveedor de servicios especiales


Solicitar antes del 20 de diciembre, 2019


Key Terms

over 3 years ago

ADA

Americans with Disabilities Act

ADD

Attention Deficit Disorder

ADHD

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

ASD 

Autism Spectrum Disorder Disability

BOCES

Board of Cooperative Educational Services

CCB

Community Center Board

CDE

Colorado Department of Education

CEC

Council for Exceptional Children

CLD

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Learners

CSDB

Colorado School for the Deaf and Blind

CTBL

Colorado Talking Book Library

DB

Deaf Blindness

DD

Developmentally Delay Disability

ECC

Early Childhood Connections

ECE

Early Childhood Education

ECSE

Early Childhood Special Education

EL

English Learner

GORT

Gray Oral Reading Test

HI

Hearing Impairment including Deafness

ID

Intellectual Disability

IDEA

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

IEP

Individualized Education Plan

IFSP

Individualized Family Service Plan     

LRE

Least Restrictive Environment

LRT

Literacy Resource Teacher

MD

Multiple Disabilities

OHI

Other Health Impairment

OI

Orthopedic Impairment Disability           

OSEP

Office of Special Education Programs

OT

Occupational Therapy 

PEAK

Parent Education and Assistance for Kids

PEP

Parents Encouraging Parents

PT

Physical Therapy

SLD

Specific Learning Disability

SLI

Speech Language Impairment

SED

Serious Emotional Disability

SLP

Speech Language Pathology

SWAAC

Statewide Assistive, Augmentative Alternative Communication

TBI

Traumatic Brain Injury

TDD

Telecommunications Device for the Deaf

TP

Transition Plan

TOWL

Test of Written Language

VI

Visual Impairment

WISC

Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children

WJ-IV

Woodcock Johnson-IV Tests of Academic Achievement

Loading Icon

My Child is in Special Education. Now What?

over 2 years ago

Special Education Staff

4 months ago

District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 



 

Special Education Data Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Julia Gidney

julia.gidney@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Kristen Sposato

kristen.sposato@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher at BRE

Resource Teacher at DVE

Severe Needs Teacher at DVE 

Anna Goldfarb

anna.goldfarb@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at FRE


Resource Teacher at SCE

Elizabeth Bloss

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SCE

Resource Teacher at SVE

Morgan Rowe

morgan.rowe@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SVE

Severe Needs Teacher at SVE

Resource Teacher at UBE


Resource Teacher at UBE


 



Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Jeannine Brock

jeannine.brock@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher at SMS (6th Grade)


Resource Teacher at SMS (7th Grade)


Resource Teacher at SMS (8th Grade)



Brett Tomlinson

brett.tomlinson@summitk12.org


Resource Teacher at SPHS

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher at SHS

Severe Needs Teacher at SHS

Resource Teacher

at SHS


Kristy Minor

Resource Teacher at SHS,SMS, & Offsite


 








Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District-Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE,

Joanie Rozinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District-Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, SCE, 

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 

at UBE,FRE,BRE,SVE

Audra Artzberger
audra.artzberger@summitk12.org


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Anita Ferrell

anita.ferrell@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at SHS

Anna Howden

anna.howden@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, 

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

 

BCBA/Severe Needs

at FRE 

Kyle Kahnweiler

kyle.Kahnweiler@summitk12.org

 



District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 



 

Special Education Data Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Julia Gidney

julia.gidney@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Kristen Sposato

kristen.sposato@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher at BRE

Resource Teacher at DVE

Severe Needs Teacher at DVE 

Anna Goldfarb

anna.goldfarb@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at FRE


Resource Teacher at SCE

Elizabeth Bloss

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SCE

Resource Teacher at SVE

Morgan Rowe

morgan.rowe@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SVE

Severe Needs Teacher at SVE

Resource Teacher at UBE




 



Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Amie Harvey

amie.harvey@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Katie Garvert

katie.garvert@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (7th Grade)

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (8th Grade)

Vickie Ragle

vickie.ragle@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher

at SPHS

Garrett Regner

garrett.regner@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS,SMS, & Offsite

Mindy Regner

mindy.regner@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher
at SHS

Rhonda Reichardt

rhonda.reichardt@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (6th Grade)


Resource Teacher

at SHS

Annie Webb

annie.webb@summitk12.org


Kristy Minor

kristy.minor@summitk12.org


Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE

Joanie Roszinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, FRE, SCE, SVE

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 

at UBE

Audra Artzberger
audra.artzberger@summitk12.org


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Kane Hamilton

kane.hamilton@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at SHS

Anna Skala

anna.skala@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, SVE

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

 

BCBA/Severe Needs

at FRE 

Kyle Kahnweiler

kyle.Kahnweiler@summitk12.org

 



District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 



 

Special Education Data Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Julia Gidney

julia.gidney@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Kristen Sposato

kristen.sposato@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher at BRE

Resource Teacher at DVE

Severe Needs Teacher at DVE 

Anna Goldfarb

anna.goldfarb@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at FRE


Resource Teacher at SCE

Elizabeth Bloss

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SCE

Resource Teacher at SVE

Morgan Rowe

morgan.rowe@summitk12.org

Resource Teacher at SVE

Severe Needs Teacher at SVE

Resource Teacher at UBE


 



Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Amie Harvey

amie.harvey@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Katie Garvert

katie.garvert@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (7th Grade)

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (8th Grade)

Vickie Ragle

vickie.ragle@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher

at SPHS

Garrett Regner

garrett.regner@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS,SMS, & Offsite

Mindy Regner

mindy.regner@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher
at SHS

Rhonda Reichardt

rhonda.reichardt@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (6th Grade)


Resource Teacher

at SHS

Annie Webb

annie.webb@summitk12.org


Kristy Minor

kristy.minor@summitk12.org


Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE

Joanie Roszinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, FRE, SCE, SVE

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 

at UBE

Audra Artzberger
audra.artzberger@summitk12.org


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Kane Hamilton

kane.hamilton@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at SHS

Anna Skala

anna.skala@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, SVE

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

 

BCBA/Severe Needs

at FRE 

Kyle Kahnweiler

kyle.Kahnweiler@summitk12.org

 



District

 

District Student Support Services Director

Mary Kay Doré

marykay.dore@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Coordinator 

Ellen Clark

ellen.clark@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Julie Carlberg

julie.carlberg@summitk12.org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

 

Sally Garrett

sally.garrett@summitk12org

 

Special Education Support Specialist

Mary Jane Hayhurst

maryjane.hayhurst@summitk12.org


Early Childhood

 

Early Childhood Coordinator

Shelly Aleshire

shelly.aleshire@summitk12.org

 


Elementary 

 

Resource Teacher 
at DVE

Amie Branson

amie.branson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at BRE

Laura Frey

laura.frey@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher 
at DVE and SVE

Kristine Geise

kristine.geise@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at UBE

Kelsey Swanson

kelsey.swanson@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SCE

Jen Leslie

elizabeth.bloss@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 

at SCE

 


Resource Teacher 
at SVE

 

Resource Teacher at FRE








Secondary

 

Severe Needs Teacher

at SMS

Amie Harvey

amie.harvey@summitk12.org

 

Day Treatment Teacher 
at SMS 

Rachel Draheim

rachel.draheim@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Katie Garvert

katie.garvert@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (7th Grade)

Megan Heflin

megan.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS

Shona Koetteritz

shona.koetteritz@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (8th Grade)

Vickie Ragle

vickie.ragle@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher

at SPHS

Garrett Regner

garrett.regner@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SHS,SMS, & Offsite

Mindy Regner

mindy.regner@summitk12.org

 

Severe Needs Teacher
at SHS

Rhonda Reichardt

rhonda.reichardt@summitk12.org

 

Resource Teacher 
at SMS (6th Grade)

Annie Webb

annie.webb@summitk12.org



Specialists

 

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher

District Wide

Marilyn Mahler

marilyn.mahler@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE, SMS, SHS

Amy Heflin

amy.heflin@summitk12.org

 

Occupational Therapist 
at DVE, SCE, SVE

Joanie Roszinski

joanie.rozinski@summitk12.org

 

Physical Therapist 

District Wide

Kim Ramey 
kim.ramey@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist 
at DVE, FRE, SCE, SVE

Robin Ackermann

robin.ackermann@summitk12.org

 


School Psychologist 
at SMS, SPHS

Lizzy Savage

lizzy.savage@summitk12.org

 

School Psychologist

at BRE, UBE, SHS

Anna Skala

anna.skala@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SVE, SMS

Kirsten Gilb

kirsten.gilb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at BRE, FRE, UBE

Marnie Haywood

marnie.haywood@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Therapist 
at SCE, SHS

Anne Lamb

anne.lamb@summitk12.org

 

Speech Language Pathologist

at DVE, SVE

Naomi White

naomi.white@summitk12.org

 

Teacher of Visually Impaired

Orientation and Mobility Specialist

District Wide

Stephanie Crosen

stephanie.crosen@summitk12.org

 

 



 

In what areas do students qualify for special education services?

HOW DO STUDENTS QUALIFY FOR SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES?

over 2 years ago


Summit School District uses a collaborative team process to help support students who struggle within our schools as part of the District's RtI (Response to Instruction) process. This is an on-going process conducted for all students that reviews student data and ensures all students are making progress on their educational goals. Interventions or extensions are implemented to meet student needs. The team continues to meet to monitor student progress. When students are not making appropriate progress the team, including parents, may discuss moving forward with the special education referral process. 


Fast Facts

over 2 years ago


Specific Learning Disability

Fast Facts

School to Work

Fast Facts

Twice Exceptional

Fast Facts

.